Home

 2013-12-03 21.19.51

Another night, another dine out! I love food, if you couldn’t tell haha. My 3rd pick was Abigail party located near Kitsilano beach. It’s a very cute place. Of course I dragged along a friend to try it out with me. Sharing is caring right?

2014-01-22 18.14.08

Apologies for the dark photo, I was trying to be artistic with the candle light. The first appie we chose was the Creamy Celeriac & Apple Soup Garlic crouton, truffled parsley oil, fine herbs, shaved parmigiano. The soup was pretty good, I could taste the hint of apple but everything else was a bit of a blur. I really like the croutons though, they had a nice crunch to them. The only thing that was disappointing was that by the time it go to me, the soup was barley lukewarm. Soup tastes a lot better when it comes piping hot.

2014-01-22 18.14.48

The next appie was the Winebar Bruschetta Caramelized onions, roasted garlic, triple crème brie, honey, cracked pepper. I’ve had this before and I loved it, but this time there wasn’t much flavor to it. The first time I had it back in December the portion was bigger too. There wasn’t much flavor to the caramelized onion, nor did I taste the cracked pepper or roasted garlic.  It was mostly the brie and the honey that shown through. Similar to the soup, it came to us lukewarm, borderline cold. There’s so much potential for this.

2014-01-22 18.33.51

The main we got  was The Buttermilk Fried Chicken Organic chicken, Yukon Gold mashed potatoes, wilted kale, proper gravy. I was happy that the fried chicken came out super hot and crispy, but it lacked flavor! The mashed potato was buttery but on the “dry” side. There wasn’t enough gravy for the chicken or mashed potatoes, which was really disappointing. It would have been a lot better if they were more generous with their gravy. The wilted kale was interesting, I’ve never had cooked kale, and I think it’s safe to say that I’ll stick to uncooked kale.

2013-12-03 21.00.36

The other main we ordered was the Steak Frites Heritage Angus flatiron, Kennebec frites, green peppercorn sauce, arugula salad. I was surprised that they didn’t ask for how we liked our steak, it just came medium rare. I liked it medium rare though, it was super juicy and well seasoned. My favorite part of this entire meal has got to be the fries! They were perfectly cooked, super crispy. I was talking to my friend about it, and we think it’s baked then fried. Who know’s, all I know is that these fries were amazing, perfectly salted! YUMMY!  Nothing much to say about the arugula salad.

2014-01-22 18.47.44

For dessert we chose the Wintercrisp Apple Crumble Salted maple oat crust, elderflower chantilly. The  chunks of crumble were huge and were as hard as rock. There was barley any apple in it which is the most important part of any apple crumble! Overall, It was poorly put together.

2014-01-22 18.48.13

The Dark Chocolate Mousse Chili, bay leaf was super chocolatey, but the texture wasn’t like a mousse, it was thicker. This was definitely better than the apple crumble.

Overall, the portions are fairly big but the food was just a bit lacking.

Pros:

  • Delicious Fries!

Cons:

  • Super tight seating
  • Service was a little slow which resulted in cold food

http://www.abigailsparty.ca/

Food: ☆ 
Service: 
Value: 
Ambiance: 

Abigail's Party on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

