Home

2014-01-17 20.07.23

It’s my favorite time of the year, DINE OUT VANCOUVER is BACK for 17 days! For my first pick this year, Forage caught my eye. I’ve heard so many great things about this place in the past. What better opportunity to try it out than during Dine Out? Check out their $28 menu here. I’m glad I went with a friend or I wouldn’t have gotten to try almost the whole dine out menu.

2014-01-17 19.08.07

Seafood Chowder

For one of our appetizers we chose the Forage Award Winning Seafood Chowder Smoked Chicharon, Soft Quail’s Egg. This has got to be one of the most delicious chowders that I have ever tasted. I wish the portion was bigger! The quail egg was runny which added a nice touch to the chowder. What is a chicaron you may ask, well it’s a deep fried delicious piece of crunchy pork rind. I loved the consistency of the soup, there was a lot of seafood in it but that didn’t take away from the thick creamy soup. The amount of seafood in the chowder was a generous portion. I loved every spoon full of the chowder.

2014-01-17 19.08.19

Bison Carpaccio

The other appetizer that we got was the Spruce Tip Smoked Bison Carpaccio black pepper cranberry jelly, crisp parsnip, house made pickles, Charred leek and bone marrow aioli. The bison carpaccio melted in my mouth, and there was definitely a flavor explosion in my mouth with the aioli and jelly. I couldn’t get enough of this appetizer, I wanted more!

2014-01-17 19.23.20

Spring Salmon

For our first entree we got the Pacific Provider Spring Salmon Potato and Smoked onion “hash”, Leek Fondue, celery root remoulade. The salmon was cooked to perfection what more can I say. I really enjoyed the potato and onion hash, it was surprisingly a really good combination. The leek fondue and celery root remoulade really added to the flavor of the salmon.

2014-01-17 19.23.40

Pork Belly

How delicious does this entree look? It’s the Roasted Gelderman Farm Pork Belly with Crackling Alpine juniper braised cabbage, Celeriac Potato Puree, Okanagan Apple Chutney! The pork belly was so crispy and juicy and full of pork-y goodness! How else can I describe this? I liked the saltiness of it and how the braised cabbage and apple chutney balanced that out. It was a nice sweet and salty combination. The celeriac potato puree was so smooth, so good!

2014-01-17 19.49.37

French Toast

One of the desserts we got was the crumb crusted maple rye “french toast” tonka bean drinking chocolate, Forty Creek Cream whipped marshmallow. The french toast was crunchy on the outside and very soft on the inside. I really enjoyed dipping it in the chocolate and the melted marshmallow on the side. It also came with a couple pieces of popcorn which were a nice touch.

2014-01-17 19.49.30

Financier

Last but not least, the blueberry hazelnut financier membrillo creme, pulled hazelnut praline, quince jelly. Such a small portion but don’t let it fool you. This was my fave dessert, it was a mouthful of goodness. The blueberries were surprisingly sweet which really added to the flavor of the warm financier. That cream on top was the missing piece to the combination. I could probably eat five of those financiers. 

Overall, Forage exceeded my expectations. I can’t stop thinking about the food, it was so delicious! I just might go back for a second round. I definitely recommend this place for dine out. GO! Trust me, your taste buds will thank me later.

Pros:

  • Amazing Dine Out Deal
  • Everything tastes so good! TRY EVERYTHING.

Cons:

  • Tight seating

http://www.foragevancouver.com/

Food: ☆ 
Service: 
Value: 
Ambiance: 

Forage on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Dine Out Vancouver at Forage

Leave a Reply

