Home

I’ve read about this place on numerous food blogs, and I just couldn’t resist trying this place for myself. It’s something I’ve never tried before and I was lucky enough to have a friend that was up to try something new and unique with me. This restaurant is very casual, you can sit wherever you want. Hockeygirl and I decided to share two dishes, one appetizer and one main.

DSCF0157

The appetizer we ordered was the Papa Rellena ($8) which is “mashed potatoes rolled into ovals stuffed with ground pork meat, onions, raisins, sliced egg and lightly fried. Served with marinated onions.” This dish was so interesting to us, it tasted like a shepherds pie of sorts. When we first saw it we thought it was a baked potato. We loved this dish, the ingredients fit really well with each other.

DSCF0156

The main we ordered was the Aji de Gallina (12.50) which is “pulled chicken in a creamy sauce with chili hot pepper, walnuts, parmesan cheese sauce  and peruvian spices, served with steam white rice and potato”. I was worried about the chilli hot pepper, since I’m not good with spicy food, but luckily it was not spicy at all. This dish was creamy and delicious. I loved the chicken in it, it was nice and soft. Overall this dish was really good, even the rice! I would definitely recommend this dish.

Overall this place is a great place if you want to be adventurous and try something new. It’s definitely worth the price. The ingredients all taste fresh. They also have gelato!

Pros:

  • Unique Peruvian food 
  • Fair price
  • Roomy

Cons

  • Scarce Service
  • Smells Odd

http://www.silvestregustolatino.com/

Food: 
Service: ☆☆
Value: ★☆☆
Ambiance: ☆☆

Silvestre Deli & Bistro on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

