Home

Helloooo, this is Mandycandy here with my first post 0:)
I brought my mom to Chop Steakhouse Bar for this year’s Dine Out. I went through a few Dine Out menus and picked one that had fish and also steak, since I wanted steak and my mom preferred fish. Chop Steakhouse looks beautiful from the outside and the interior wasn’t bad either, although it wasn’t as special as its exterior led on. It was also huge inside, with a separate hall for the bar & lounge; we dined at the main restaurant area. For this year’s Dine Out, they had a $28 menu as well as a $38 menu. For the $28 menu, it was a 3 course meal, while the $38 was a 4 course. The menus were similar but the higher price point menu had an extra starter and more expensive entrées.

Interior of Chop Steakhouse & Bar

We both started off with the Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with lemon sour cream. and it also came with a dinner roll. The soup was so flavourful and rich, almost too salty but not quite. The bread was surprisingly soft and warm – I had to stop myself from eating too much bread because it seemed silly to fill myself up with bread before the main course even arrived.

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup with lemon sour cream

My $38 choice came with an extra starter, which I picked to be the Prime Rib and Yorkie Sliders and shared it with my mom. If you notice the picture below, it seemed to resemble a giant dirty truffle.. or a burnt piece of bread, so I was pretty skeptical. When I cut it open though, there was prime rib filling that was made from being slow roasted with red wine. The exterior was actually kind of a cream puff shell so the dish was actually better than it looks. After having the soup though, it seemed like this slider didn’t have enough flavour.

Prime Rib and Yorkie Sliders

My entrée was the New York Striploin that was 12 oz served with infused mashed potatoes and this tomato with this crunchy green stuff on top. I ordered it medium rare and they cooked it perfectly. Unlike Hy’s (upcoming post), I didn’t feel like the steak needed extra sauce – it was perfect the way it was. What would have made the entire dish perfect was if the mashed potatoes weren’t that cold. It was warm but compared to the steak it actually tasted cold. I’m not sure what they ‘infused’ in it but it was tasty. The tomato with its crunchy green stuff was a nice addition too. Overall, I found the steak to be really good as I didn’t feel bloated or gross after eating so much meat, which happens to me sometimes if it wasn’t cooked properly, as it ruins my appetite.

New York Striploin

My mom’s entrée was from the $28 menu and it was the Lobster Stuffed Haddock in a lemon butter sauce, served with wild rice pilaf and fresh seasonal vegetables. We noticed that there was no visible lobster inside, which isn’t that surprising. There were little lobster flakes inside the haddock.The veggies were well cooked and sweet, and the rice pilaf tasted good too. As for the fish itself, I found the taste to be strange because of the lemon butter sauce but my mom liked it. Personally I didn’t find the fish any different from the fish my mom can make at home, other than the strange lemon butter taste and my mom also agreed.  However, it was a good dish overall.

Lobster Stuffed Haddock

For dessert, my mom’s menu came with a sliver of Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Fudge Butter Cream while mine had the choice of that same chocolate dessert or a Mini Raspberry Crème Brûlée. Like any other rational person who would want to try more types of dessert, I chose the Crème Brûlée while my mom chose the Chocolate Cake. The crème brûlée was actually a bit disappointing. It is supposed to be white chocolate with raspberry filling and caramelized sugar and the dish itself fit that description perfectly – which is a problem. The white chocolate made the whole thing overly sweet and the raspberry filling inside multiplied that sweetness by two. Also, the crème brûlée itself was actually more cream than custard so I didn’t really think of it as actual crème brûlée. Thankfully they had a piece of shortbread that accompanied the dessert so I just ended up dipping that in the crème brûlée to even out the sweetness.

Mini Raspberry Crème Brûlée

Okay moving on to the climatic ending, that chocolate cake. Let me tell you, the Chocolate Cake dessert was a heavenly piece of culinary artwork. Yes chocolate cake is really common, but this baby is fudge-y goodness with a rich chocolate taste, and the little ice cream on the side was a perfect complement to the dessert as its vanilla coolness was in perfect harmony with that beautiful fudge cake. Although it was sad that the ice cream already melted half way by the time it reached our table. It was a sweet end to a great meal.

Chocolate Cake (aka heaven on a plate denoted by Mandycandy)

While I seem to be pointing out more ‘bad’ things than good, the meal was overall really good, as was the atmosphere. Although they are using the $38 Dine Out menu, it’s smart of them to include a $28 for those who want to bring friends that might not want to spend the same amount of money for the good atmosphere. I think the meal was worth its price, but would I come back again in the near future? Probably not, as I’m still living the poor student life, but I definitely recommend this restaurant.

Pros:

  • Delicious food
  • That slice of chocolate heaven
  • Nice atmosphere

Cons:

  • Super far in Richmond, impossible to get to without a ride
  • Waitress gave us the bill immediately after dessert (maybe it was because it’s Dine Out period so they’re super busy)

Chop Steakhouse & Bar restaurant website
Chop Steakhouse & Bar Dine Out menu

Food: ★★★★☆
Service: ★★★☆☆
Value: ★★★☆☆
Ambiance: ★★★★☆

Chop Steakhouse on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

